l'amour grand

My dearest Nancy,
I have sat down many times to write this letter. I hav gone over in my mind what I will say, but every time I pick up a quill, the words just flee away. I feel that I no longer know you Nancy. I received the letter you wrote from the 'Sally-Anne' and you seemed as true as ever. I thought then that the wide ocean was but a shallow pond between us, and now I learn that you are to be married to a planter! I hardly know what to say. BY some cruel turn of fate, we are bound for Kingston, but I understand from your brother, Henry, that you will be a wife long beforeour ships come in to port. I had my hopes of you. I have been given promotion to First Lieutenant on the third rater, 'Eagle' under Captain Dunstan, and I went to call on your brother on the strength of it, fot my pay has increased, and above that I have the prospect of prize money. I went to delclare my intentions, but he told me that you were already spoken for. So my hopes are dashed. YOu have slipped away from me as a ship steals from harbour on the morning tide. I hold no hard feelings Nancy. For who could fail to love you? And if this planter fellow has stolen your heart in return, as your brother says he has, then all that remains is for me to wish you happiness. But I want you to know that my love will never change. It will always remain the same. If I cannot have you, then I will have no other. My life is the Navy and I will do my duty. When we reach Kingston, our commision is to hunt down the pirates who infest the waters of the Caribbean. It will be torture for me to be so near and never to see you, so I hop our cruise keeps us far from shore. You may look for me where the fighting is thickest. If the service demands the highest sacrifice, then I will give it. For what else is left for me to do? I am, and will always remain your truest friend. If you are ever in need og one, you may count me.

Your loving and ever faithful,
William

ur boken: pirates- Celia Rees

kär-lek 

jag behöver bevis på dess existens för just nu ser det ack så mörkt ut. det ovanför, hur vackert är det inte?
/j

Kommentarer
Postat av: Klara

Den där boken läste jag en gång. Jag minns att jag tyckte mycket om den!

2009-05-03 @ 16:55:38
URL: http://klaraskollage.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0